I think keeping an actual recipe box is a "lost art." Now everyone looks online for recipes (that's where I find almost all of my recipes that I use), or they look through a cookbook. A few years ago I decided to actually keep a recipe box. I decided that a recipe box would hold only recipes that I actually enjoyed eating! (What a thought right?) I get tired of flipping through a cookbook when half the recipes I don't like, or things that I don't think I would ever cook. 

Something I learned from one of my grandmothers was to write on the recipe if you liked the dish, when you cooked it, and if you would make it again. I have taken her idea into practice. Since I only put recipes in my box that I like, I use it mainly to write ideas as to what to pair the dish with. Now ideally I would go back and write the next few times I make it and what I made it with to give myself some ideas later down the road, but I don't do that like I should. 









Leave a Reply.