I was in a search for a stir-fry recipe that I could use some fresh sugar snap peas in, and this is what I found. My horticulture class had started sugar snap peas by seeds in the Fall of 2013. I promised them a celebration where they could bring some food and I would cook the peas for them. 


This wasn't as good as a Chinese stir-fry that I am used to, but it was certainly good and I would cook this again! I did find this recipe at AllRecipes.com. (You can click there for the original recipe.) Since I was cooking for kids from the ages of 14 to 18 (and since I can be a little picky at times as well), the veggies of my choice were carrots and sugar snap peas. 


The original recipe had mushrooms, cabbage, celery, peppers, etc. I also think broccoli would have been pretty good in this as well. 
Ingredients:
2 lbs beef sirloin or top round steaks
3 tbsp cornstarch
1 (10.5 oz) can of Condensed Beef Broth
1/2 c soy sauce
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp vegetable oil
Choice of veggies


Directions:
1. Slice beef into thin strips
2. Mix cornstarch, broth, soy sauce, and sugar until smooth
3. In large skillet or wok, heat 1 tbsp oil over high heat. Add beef in 2 batches and stir-fry. Set aside.
4. Add 1 tbsp oil over medium heat. Add veggies in 2 batches and stir-fry until tender-crisp. Set aside.
5. Stir cornstarch mixture and add to skillet. Cook until mixture boils and thickens, stirring constantly. Return beef and veggies. Heat through. Serve over rice.



Leave a Reply.